
       
 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
 

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES 

BUREAU OF HUMAN SERVICES LICENSING
 

Child Residential and Day Treatment Facilities (55 Pa.Code Chapter 3800)
 

Q/A - Regulatory Clarifications – May 2015 
The clarifications and interpretations below will remain on the Department’s web site until 

the information is included in the next updated Regulatory Compliance Guide (RCG). 

Regulation: § 3800.16(d) – Reportable Incidents 
§ 3800.16(d) - The facility shall orally report to the appropriate Departmental regional office 
and the contracting agency within 12 hours, a fire requiring the relocation of children, an 
unexpected death of a child and a child who is missing from the facility if police have been 
notified. 

Question: Which phone number is to be used to make oral reports to 
the Department regarding fire requiring the relocation of children, an 
unexpected death of a child and a child who is missing from the facility if 
police have been notified? 

ANSWER: For all oral reports to the Department regarding the 
emergency events listed above, the following phone number should be used: 
(717) 783-3670. 

Regulations: §§ 3800.51, 52 – Child Abuse and Criminal History 
Checks; Staff hiring, Retention and Utilization 
§ 3800.51 – Child abuse and criminal history checks shall be completed in accordance with 

23 Pa.C.S. § §  6301—6385 (relating to the Child Protective Services Law) and Chapter 

3490 (relating to protective services). 

§ 3800.52 - Staff hiring retention and utilization shall be in accordance with 23 Pa.C.S. §§ 

6301—6385 (relating to the Child Protective Services Law) and Chapter 3490 (relating to
 
protective services). 


Question: May a facility use a background check from Pennsylvania’s 
Justice Network (JNET) in lieu of a background check from the Pennsylvania 
State Police (PSP)? 

ANSWER: No. According to the Pennsylvania State Police (PSP), the 
PSP e-patch system is more updated than the JNET system. A background 
check from the PSP will yield more tangible background results.  
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Please also be aware that neither the JNET background check nor the 
PSP background check can replace the FBI federal background check, or the 
ChildLine clearance.  

Regulations: §§ 3800.58(d), (h) – Staff Training  
§ 3800.58(d) - After initial training, the director and each full-time, part-time and 

temporary staff person, who will have regular and significant direct contact with children,
 
shall have at least 40 hours of training annually relating to the care and management of 

children. This requirement for annual training does not apply for the initial year of 

employment. 

§ 3800.58(h) - A record of training including the person trained, date, source, content, 

length of each course and copies of any certificates received, shall be kept.
 

Question: For staff who complete a course from an accredited college 
or university, how many hours of training can be counted towards the 
training requirement? 

ANSWER: For staff who complete a course from an accredited college 
or university, 10 hours may be recorded for each course taken. Each course 
will only count towards the training requirement if the course specifically 
relates to the care and management of children. 

Question: For staff who complete a course from an accredited college 
or university, what date should be used on the record if the staff person 
attended a spring/fall/summer session? 

ANSWER: The specific dates of the training shall be recorded on the 
staff person’s record of training.  

Regulation: § 3800.144(b) – Dental Care 
§ 3800.144(b) - A child who is 3 years of age or older shall have a dental examination 
performed by a licensed dentist and teeth cleaning performed by a licensed dentist or dental 
technician at least semiannually. If a child has not had a dental examination and teeth 
cleaning within 6 months prior to admission, a dental examination and teeth cleaning shall 
be performed within 30 days after admission. 

Question: Is there a grace period for initial dental exams or will a 
violation be issued if the initial dental exam is not completed by the 30th 

day? 
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ANSWER: If the facility is unable to obtain an initial dental exam 
within 30 days of the child’s admission due to insurance or scheduling 
complications, the following will be considered: 

	 If the child has a valid medical assistance or insurance card, 
then a 15-day grace period will be given as long as the initial 
effort to schedule the dental exam is made within 5 calendar 
days of the child’s admission and all efforts to schedule the exam 
are documented.  

	 If the child does NOT have a valid medical assistance or 
insurance card, then a 30-day grace period will be given as long 
as efforts to obtain a valid medical assistance or insurance card 
are completed within 5 calendar days of the child’s admission 
and all efforts to schedule the exam are documented. 

Question: Does semiannually mean every 6 months or twice per 
year? 

ANSWER: Semiannually is defined as twice per year. However, it is 
strongly recommended that a child receives a dental exam every six months. 

Regulation: § 3800.148 – Health and Behavioral Health Services 
§ 3800.148 – 
(a) The facility shall identify acute and chronic conditions of a child and shall arrange for or 
provide appropriate medical treatment. 
(b)  Medically necessary physical and behavioral health services, diagnostic services, follow-
up examinations and treatment, such as medical, nursing, pharmaceutical, dental, dietary, 
hearing, vision, blood lead level, psychiatric and psychological services that are planned or 
prescribed for the child, shall be arranged for or provided. 

Question: What is a facility’s responsibility for obtaining medical 
equipment for a child which has a substantial price tag, such as $10,000 or 
more? 

ANSWER: A facility must provide or arrange for medically necessary 
physical and behavioral health services, diagnostic services, follow-up 
examinations and treatment, such as medical, nursing, pharmaceutical, 
dental, dietary, hearing, vision, blood lead level, psychiatric and 
psychological services that are planned or prescribed for the child. If the 
facility is unable to provide the medical equipment by purchasing it, the 
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facility is also permitted to arrange for the medical equipment through 
community services or otherwise.  
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