## **APPENDIX C – Information Sheet - What Is A Complete Application?**

An individual or legal entity who wishes to operate a child care center, group child care home or family child care home in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania must obtain a certificate of compliance from the Pennsylvania Department of Human Services (DHS) <u>prior to beginning</u> <u>operation of the facility</u> (62 P.S. §1002; 55 Pa. Code §20.1, <u>et seq.</u>; 55 Pa. Code §§§3270.11(a) and 3280.11(a) and 3290.11).

The first step in obtaining a certificate of compliance is submission of a <u>complete</u> application to the appropriate Regional Office of Child Development and Early Learning. A complete application must include the following material:

- 1) Completed Application for Certificate of Compliance PW 633 (55 Pa. Code §20.21).
- Signed and dated
- All questions answered all questions answered "Yes" have an explanation
- Group Child Care Homes in a residence and Family Child Care Home have included a list of all household members
- Applicant provided an email address
- Application has been date stamped by the Regional Office
- A certificate of occupancy showing that the building is in compliance with the Uniform Construction Code (UCC) and is acceptable for use as a child care center, group child care home or family child care home, as applicable (55 Pa. Code §§§3270.15 and 3280.15 and 3290.14).
- 3) Documents for the Pennsylvania Child Abuse Registry, a Pennsylvania State Police criminal history and FBI fingerprinting results for the legal entity, a representative of the legal entity and/or the responsible person as required by the Child Protective Services Law (23 Pa. C.S.A. §6344; 55 Pa. Code §§§3270.32(a) and 3280.32(a) and 3290.32(a)) that are not more than 60 months old.
- 4) Disclosure statement for the legal entity, representative for the legal entity and /or the responsible person as required by the Child Protective Services Law (23 Pa. C.S.A. §6344; 55 Pa. Code §§§3270.32(a) and 3280.32(a) and 3290.32(a))
- 5) Child Care Center, Group Child Care Home and Family Child Care Home in a residence only- Documents for the Pennsylvania Child Abuse Registry, a Pennsylvania State Police criminal history and FBI fingerprinting results for the legal entity, a representative of the legal entity and/or the responsible person as required by the Child Protective Services Law (23 Pa. C.S.A. §6344; 55 Pa. Code §§3280.32(a) and 3290.32(a)) that are not more than 60 months old. This requirement applies to any member of the household/ residence who is 18 years of age or older and is in the household for 30 or more calendar days per year.
- 6) Business papers, if applicable, including the following documents filed with the Pennsylvania Department of State (55 Pa. Code §20.12):
  - Articles of Incorporation showing members
  - Registration for Limited Liability Company (LLC), Limited Liability Partnership (LLP) or Limited Partnership (LP) – showing
  - If the business was formed outside Pennsylvania, a copy of a Certificate of Authority

or Certificate of Registration to do business in Pennsylvania as filed with the Pennsylvania Department of State.

- 7) Fictitious Name approval, if applicable (55 Pa. Code §20.21(e)).
- 8) Certificate of Tax Exempt Status, if nonprofit (55 Pa. Code §20.4).
- 9) Civil Rights Compliance Approval letter (see below).
- 10) Documentation that a representative of the legal entity completed online orientation training and face to face orientation training.
- 11) Documentation that a representative of the legal entity completed the required preservice training.
- 12) Certificate of completion of the mandated reporter training: <u>Recognizing and Reporting</u> <u>Child Abuse: Mandated and Permissive</u> <u>Reporting in Pennsylvania. If the applicant</u> <u>or legal entity is not an individual but a partnership, then both members must</u> <u>show completion of the training. If the applicant is a corporation, the director of</u> <u>the facility can submit the proof of the training.</u>
- 13) Civil Rights Compliance Questionnaire. A completed questionnaire must be returned the Bureau of Equal Opportunity (BEO) Regional Office as directed in the cover letter accompanying the questionnaire. We cannot process a certificate of compliance until BEO verifies compliance with civil rights requirements. Please Note: This is not required for Family Child Care Homes.
- 14) Effective 3/10/18 Verification that the facility meets the Pennsylvania Safe Drinking Water Act (SDWA). If the facility is a customer of a water supplier, then a current water bill is acceptable proof. If the facility obtains its water source from a well, river, lake or pond and serves 25 or more persons a day, then a copy of the inspection report from the Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) is needed for verification. Please contact DEP Bureau of Safe Drinking Water at 717-787-9633 if you have any additional questions. This is for child care centers and group child care homes and is not applicable for family child care homes.

Every certified child care facility is eligible to participate in DHS's child care subsidy program and to be listed in the resource and referral system. In order to participate in the subsidy program or be listed in the resource and referral system, <u>federal tax information must be</u> <u>submitted to DHS</u>. Please note that DHS requires submission of a separate document verifying the tax information that is entered on the application.

Following receipt of your application, the regional office will review it for accuracy and completeness. If the application is complete, the regional office will advise the provider in writing of the next step in the certification process. If the application is not complete, the provider will receive written notification from DHS returning the application for a certificate of compliance.