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Who needs clearances?
• A foster parent.

• A prospective adoptive parent.

• An individual 18 years of age or 
older who resides in the home of a 
foster parent for at least 30 days in 
a calendar year or who resides in 
the home of a prospective adoptive 
parent for at least 30 days in a 
calendar year.

NOTE: For the purposes of clearances, 
the term “prospective adoptive parent” 
includes those seeking approval 
(prospective) and those approved 
awaiting placement of a child into their 
home (pre-adoptive).

Which clearances are needed?
Foster and prospective adoptive 
parents and adult household 
members must obtain the following 
three clearances:

• Report of criminal history from the 
Pennsylvania State Police (PSP);

• Child Abuse History Clearance from 
the Department of Human Services 
(Child abuse);

• Fingerprint based federal criminal 
history submitted through the 
Pennsylvania State Police or its 
authorized agent (FBI). 

Foster and prospective adoptive 
parents, or any individual over 18 
years of age residing in the home, 
who have resided outside of the 
commonwealth at anytime within 
the previous five-year period must 
also have obtained a Child Abuse 
clearance within the previous one-
year period or its equivalent in each 
state the person has resided in the 
previous five-year period.

When are clearances needed?
Foster and prospective adoptive 
parents must submit their clearances 
prior to their approval. 
Adult household members of foster, 
prospective, and pre-adoptive 
parents must submit their clearances 
at the time they reside in the home 
for at least 30 days in a calendar 
year. This provision applies to any 
individual age 18 or older placed in 
foster care in the home.

Any individual over 18 years of age 
who begins residing in the home 
of an approved foster or adoptive 
family and has resided outside of the 
commonwealth at any time within the 
previous five-year period must, within 
30 days of beginning residence, 
submit a Child Abuse clearance or its 
equivalent in each state in which they 
have resided within the previous five-
year period. This provision applies to 
any youth age 18 or younger placed in 
foster care in the home. In accordance 
with § 2530 (relating to home study 
and pre-placement report) of the 
Adoption Act, 23 Pa.C.S., Chapters 
21-29, updated Child Abuse, PSP and 
FBI clearances are also required prior 
to a child being placed in the home by 
an adoption agency or intermediary, if 
clearances are more than a year old.

What is the renewal 
requirement for clearances?
As per the Child Protective Services 
Law, clearances must be obtained 
every 60 months, unless otherwise 
ordered by a court. 
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If an individual or agency, however, 
elects to renew all clearances at the 
same time, the date of the oldest 
clearance is to be used as the 
renewal date.  
NOTE: Adoptive parents who are not 
planning to adopt in the future do not 
need to renew their clearances every 
60 months.

How do I obtain clearances?
The Child Abuse, PSP, and FBI 
clearances can all be applied 
and paid for electronically. The 
FBI clearance also requires a 
fingerprint submission. All necessary 
instructions and links to apply for 
these clearances can be found 
on the “Clearances” page of the 
KeepKidsSafe.pa.gov website.

Is the use of a third-party 
vendor to process clearances 
acceptable?
Third-party vendors may be used 
to process Child Abuse, PSP, and 
FBI clearances using the steps 
established above. They are not 
permitted to conduct background 
checks or clearances through other 
databases in lieu of the steps outlined 
above. In addition, agencies remain 
responsible for the approval decision 
based on the information obtained.

How much do clearances cost?
• The PSP clearance costs $22.

• The Child Abuse clearance costs $13.
• The FBI clearance costs $23.85 

through the Department of Human 
Services (department).

Who pays for clearances?
The applicant is responsible for 
paying the cost of the required 
clearances. However, some agencies 
choose to pay for these clearances 
and are able to establish business 
accounts to pay for clearances. The 
only time an agency is required to 
bear the cost of the clearances is 
when there is reasonable belief 
that the foster, prospective, or pre-
adoptive parent or adult household 
member was arrested or convicted of 
an offense that would deny approval 
or is named as a perpetrator in 
an indicated or founded report. In 
these situations, the agency must 
immediately require the individual to 
obtain their clearances.

Can an agency or organization 
pay for clearances?
Child Abuse clearances
Yes, agencies and organizations 
can pay for Child Abuse clearances 
by registering for a Business 
Partner user account using the 
“Organization Account Access” link 
on the Child Welfare Portal website 
at www.compass.state.pa.us/cwis. 
The business account will allow 
organizations to purchase Child 

Abuse clearance payment codes 
to be distributed to applicants or 
employees. Individual applicants 
or employees will then go onto the 
Child Welfare Portal to apply for the 
clearance using the code. The pre-
purchased codes can only be used 
once and allows the organization to 
have access to the applicant’s Child 
Abuse clearance results once those 
results are processed.
FBI clearances
An agency pay agreement/business 
account can also be created 
between an organization and the FBI, 
or its authorized agent, for payment 
of FBI clearances. Information on 
creating an agency pay agreement 
for FBI clearances through the 
Department of Human Services can 
be found on the “Clearances” page 
of the KeepKidsSafe.pa.gov website.
PSP clearances
An agency business account can be 
requested from the Pennsylvania 
State Police to pay for clearances in 
bulk by calling 1-888-783-7972 and 
selecting option 3. Organizations are 
also able to pay for an applicant’s 
PSP clearance on an individual basis 
by using a credit card if applying 
online or submitting a paper check if 
applying by mail.

Are there any other 
requirements?
• If a foster, prospective, pre-adoptive 
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parent or an individual over 18 
years of age residing in the home 
is arrested for or convicted of 
an offense that would constitute 
grounds for denying approval or is 
named as a perpetrator in a founded 
or indicated report, the individual 
must provide the foster family care/
adoption agency with written notice 
no later than  
72 hours after the arrest, conviction 
or notification that the person has 
been listed as a perpetrator in the 
statewide database.

• Foster parents and prospective 
adoptive parents must report any 
other change in the foster family 
household composition within 30 
days of the change for review by 
the foster family/adoption care 
agency. 

• If any individual over 18 years of 
age, who has resided outside 
this commonwealth at any time 
within the previous five-year 
period, begins residing in the 
home of an approved foster 
family or prospective adoptive 
family and their Child Abuse 
clearances from Pennsylvania or 
any other state they have lived 
in within the previous five-year 
period shows that the person is 
named as a perpetrator within 
the previous five-year period, the 
foster family care/adoption agency 
shall forward the certification to 

the department for review. If the 
department determines that the 
person is named as the equivalent 
of a perpetrator of a founded 
report within the previous five-
year period and the person does 
not cease residing in the home 
immediately, the county agency 
must immediately seek court 
authorization to remove the foster 
child or children from the home.

A foster, prospective, or pre-adoptive 
parent who willfully fails to disclose 
information as required above 
commits a misdemeanor of the 
third degree and shall be subject 
to discipline up to and including 
disapproval.

What clearances are needed 
to place a child in the home of 
a caregiver on an emergency 
basis?
As it relates to children being 
placed in foster care, there are 
situations in which a child can be 
placed in the home of a caregiver 
on an emergency basis pending 
full approval. Child Abuse and PSP 
clearances on all adults who will 
serve as an emergency caregiver 
must be completed. An expedited 
FBI clearance cannot be completed, 
however all emergency caregivers 
must follow the process outlined by 
the Department for submission of 
an FBI clearance. The requirements 

are outlined in the Office of Children, 
Youth and Families Bulletin Number 
3140-04-05/3490-04-01 entitled 
“Child Placements with Emergency 
Caregivers” and must be completed 
prior to the child being placed with 
the emergency caregiver.  As it 
relates to children being placed in a 
home for the purposes of adoption, 
an interim placement may be 
permissible only in full compliance 
with § 2530 (c) of the Adoption Act.

Is the agency required to keep  
a copy of my clearances?
Yes, pursuant to § 6344 (b.1), the 
employer, administrator, supervisor 
or other person responsible for 
acceptance of the individual to serve 
in any capacity requiring clearances, 
shall maintain copies of the required 
information. 

An employer, administrator, supervisor 
or other person responsible for 
approval decisions that intentionally 
fails to require an applicant to submit 
the required clearances before 
the applicant’s approval commits a 
misdemeanor of the third degree.

Agencies are reminded that the 
Child Abuse clearance information is 
confidential and may not be released 
to other individuals. 

Can an agency or organization 
institute additional standards?
Yes, nothing prohibits the employer 
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or person responsible for a program, 
activity or service from making 
employment, discipline or termination 
decisions or establishing additional 
standards as part of the hiring or 
selection process for employees or 
volunteers. 

Can child abuse clearances  be 
transferred? 
Yes, if the clearance was obtained 
from employment, or foster or 
adoptive purposes. If the child abuse 
history clearance is current, the 
employee may use their clearance, 

designated for employment or foster 
or adoptive services, to (1) apply 
for employment (2)Serve as an 
employee (3)Apply as a volunteer; 
and (4) serve as a volunteer. Child 
Abuse History clearances obtained 
for volunteer purposes may only be 
used for volunteer purposes.

Can FBI Criminal History 
clearances be transferred? 
In certain circumstances. The FBI 
Criminal History clearances are 
only transferrable if the foster or 
adoptive parent would still be using 

a Department of Human Services 
service code. For example: (1) a 
foster or adoptive parent becomes 
or is an employee and moves from 
one certified child care setting to 
another or(2) will continue to work 
as an “employee over the age of 
14 years of age and have contact 
with children” but merely changes 
employers and continues to be a 
foster or adoptive parent.  Also, 
an FBI Criminal History clearance 
obtained for volunteer purposes may 
only be used for volunteering.
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