
APPENDIX C 
PARTICIPATION STANDARDS FOR RELATIVE/NEIGHBOR PROVIDERS 

 
These Participation Standards are subject to periodic review and change at the 
discretion of the Department of Public Welfare (DPW). 
 
A. The provider must be at least 18 years of age. 
 
B. The provider is responsible to know the local requirements for providing child care in his/her 

home. 
 
C. The provider must provide care only in his/her own home. 
 
D. The provider must comply with the following requirements before any child care payments 

will be made: 

1. Child Abuse, Federal and State Criminal History Information: 

a. The provider must have his or her fingerprints scanned for Federal criminal 
history clearances.  The fingerprints will be sent to the Pennsylvania State 
Police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) for the purpose of 
comparison with the State Police and FBI fingerprint databases. 

 
b. The provider will attend a face-to-face meeting at the CCIS within 30 days of 

the date on the CareCheck appointment letter sent from the CCIS.  The 
provider will submit the results of the Federal criminal history clearance to the 
CCIS at that time. 

 
c. The provider will submit a CareCheck application and all required information 

to the CCIS for review.  CareCheck provides the CCIS with the provider’s 
child abuse and Pennsylvania State Police criminal history clearances. The 
provider must submit all additional information required by DPW.  Failure to 
submit the required information will result in termination of this agreement. 

 
d. Child abuse and Pennsylvania State criminal history reviews will be 

conducted every two years.   
 
e. The provider may not participate if: 

 named in the Central Registry as the perpetrator of a founded or 
indicated report of child abuse committed within the past five-year 
period, and/or 

 convicted of one or more of the offenses listed in the Child 
Protective Services Law (Title 23 Pa. C.S.A. Chapter 63, Section 
6344) 

 
2. Identifying information:  Before signing this Agreement, the provider will show the 

CCIS the following: 
 

a. Photo-identification or two other forms of identification, and 
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b. Proof of address, and 
 
c. Social Security card or other proof of Social Security Number, and 
 
d. Proof of a working telephone.  

 

3. Prevention and control of infectious diseases: 

a. The provider must wash his/her hands after toileting, after diapering a child, 
after assisting a child with toileting and prior to preparing or handling food. 

 
b. The provider must wash the child’s hands after the child is toileted or 

diapered, and before meals and snacks. 
 
c. A provider must give any information he/she receives regarding child 

immunizations to parents/caretakers. 
 

4. Conditions in the provider’s home: 

a. A working smoke detector must be placed on each level of the home in which 
child care is provided. 

 
b. Conditions may not pose a threat to the health and safety of the children in 

care. 
 
c. Cleaning materials and other toxic materials shall be stored in their original 

labeled containers or in a container that specifies the contents.  These 
materials must be kept in a locked area or in an area where children cannot 
reach them.  These materials must be separate from food, the areas where 
food is prepared or stored and the areas where child care takes place. 

 
d. Any weapon or firearm must be kept in a locked cabinet.  Any ammunition 

must be kept in a locked area separate from weapons and firearms.  The 
provider must tell the child’s parent/caretaker that weapons, firearms or 
ammunition are in the provider’s home. 

 
5. The provider must maintain a telephone with call out capability. 
 
6. Minimum health and safety training: 

a. The provider must agree to be on the mailing list to receive training materials. 
 
b. The provider will review all materials provided by the CCIS and DPW 

concerning health and safety topics related to the care of children. 
 

c. The provider will review all information regarding training programs offered by 
DPW and attend such programs whenever possible. 

 
E. The provider may not use any form of physical punishment, including spanking. 
 
F. The CCIS may refuse to sign an Agreement with an individual if the individual: 
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1. Appears to be under the influence of drugs or alcohol; or 
 

2. Is physically unable to provide age appropriate care to the child(ren) for whom care 
is being requested; or 

 

3. Has not corrected conditions that led to the denial, revocation, refusal to renew or 
forfeiture of a certificate of compliance or registration issued by the Department to 
provide child care services. 

 
G. Alternate Caregivers 
 
1. A relative/neighbor provider must obtain permission from the CCIS before allowing 

another person to provide substitute child care. 
 

2. A relative/neighbor provider must notify the parent/caretaker of the identity of a 
substitute child care provider before the substitute provides care. 

 
3. Substitute child care must be provided at the location shown in this Agreement. 

 
4. A substitute child care provider must be cleared through child abuse, federal and state 

criminal history clearances before the substitute provides care. 
 
H. Statements of Fact: 

1. I am aware that state law does not allow me to provide child care for more than three 
children at any one time who are not related to me.  Related means my children, 
stepchildren, foster children or grandchildren. 

 
2. I know that the CCIS will not pay for more than the following: 

 
 3 unrelated children in care at any one time; or 

 
 A total of 6 children to include any combination of grandchildren and/or up to 

3 unrelated children in care at any one time; or 
 

 A combination of more than five (5) related and unrelated infants (a child from 
birth to the age of 12 months) and toddlers (a child from 13 through 36 
months of age) in my care at any one time. 

 
3. I know that I must allow a parent/caretaker to see his/her child at any time that I am 

providing care for that child. 
 

 
I have read the information contained within this Appendix and I understand and agree to 
the content.  I have also received a copy of this Appendix for my records. 
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