
       
 

 

 

  
 

 
 

 

 
 

  

  

 

 

 

 

 
 
 

 

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA
 

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES 

BUREAU OF HUMAN SERVICES LICENSING
 

Family Living Homes 

(55 Pa.Code Chapter 6500) 

Q/A - Regulatory Clarifications – April 2015 
The clarifications and interpretations below will remain on the Department’s web site until 

the information is included in the next updated Regulatory Compliance Guide (RCG). 

Regulation: § 6500.23(a)-(b) – Criminal History Record Check 
§ 6500.23 –  
(a) An application for a Pennsylvania criminal history record check shall be submitted to the 
State Police for individuals 18 years of age or older who reside in the home, prior to an 
individual living or receiving respite care in the home. 
(b)  If a person 18 years of age or older who resides in the home is not a Pennsylvania 
resident, an application for a Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) criminal history record 
check shall be submitted to the FBI in addition to the Pennsylvania criminal record check, 
prior to an individual living or receiving respite care in the home. 

Question: Do the Older Adults Protective Services Act (OAPSA) 
requirements apply to household members 18 years of age or older such as 
a spouse or adult child of the primary caregiver in a Family Living Home? If 
the adult household member’s criminal history record check indicates s/he 
has a prohibitive offense, can the individual with ID be served in the home? 
If during the renewal of a criminal history record check it is found the 
household member has a prohibitive offense, may the adult household 
member continue to reside in the home with the individual served? 

ANSWER: Although the regulation at § 6500.23 requires a criminal 
history record check for household members 18 years of age or older, it 
does not specify that household members shall not have a prohibitive 
offense. It is to the discretion of the employer and their policies as to 
whether they want to contract with a family living home provider who has a 
household member 18 years of age or older with a prohibitive offense.  

BHSL Licensing Representatives will review the home’s policies on 
prohibitive offenses.  It is strongly recommended that homes do not serve 
individuals in homes in which household member(s) 18 years of age or older 
have a prohibitive offense. While the regulation does not prohibit the 
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admission of an individual to a family living home with a household member 
who has a prohibitive offense, the agency remains responsible for the 
health, safety and well-being of the individual, including any harm that may 
be perpetrated by the offender. 

Regulation: § 6500.77 – First Aid Materials  
§ 6500.77 - Each home shall have antiseptic, an assortment of adhesive bandages, sterile 
gauze pads, tweezers, tape, scissors and syrup of Ipecac if any individual 4 years of age or 
younger, or an individual likely to ingest poisons, is served. 

Question: Does the August 9, 2004 letter from former Deputy 
Secretary Kevin T. Casey still stand regarding the dismissal of syrup of 
epicac from the first aid kit contents? 

ANSWER: Yes. The letter sent to community home and family living 
home providers from former Deputy Secretary Kevin T. Casey dated August 
9, 2004 is still in effect. Syrup of epicac does not need to be included in the 
list of items required in a home’s first aid kit. 

Regulation: § 6500.125(c)(2) – Family Physical Examination  
§ 6500.125(c) - The physical examination shall include: 
(2)  Tuberculin skin testing by Mantoux method with negative results every 2 years for 
family members 1 year of age or older; or, if a tuberculin skin test is positive, an initial 
chest X-ray with results noted. Tuberculin skin testing may be completed and certified in 
writing by a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse instead of a licensed physician. 

Question: Can the T-Spot test be used for tuberculosis skin testing 
instead of the Mantoux method? 

ANSWER: Yes. The T-Spot test is a blood test used for tuberculosis 
skin testing. It is FDA-approved and can be performed in one visit to a 
physician’s office. 
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