MAKE SURE YOUR APPLICATION PACKET IS COMPLETE

An individual or legal entity who wishes to operate a child care center, group child care home or
family child care home in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania must obtain a certificate of
compliance from the Pennsylvania Department of Human Services (DHS) prior to beginning
operation of the facility (62 P.S. 81002; 55 Pa. Code §20.1, et seq.; 55 Pa. Code 8883270.11(a)

and 3280.11(a) and 3290.11).

The first step in obtaining a certificate of compliance is submission of a complete application to
the appropriate Regional Office of Child Development and Early Learning. A complete
application must include the following material:

1)

)

®3)

(4)

(®)

(6)

Completed Application for Certificate of Compliance - PW 633 (55 Pa. Code §20.21).
Signed and dated

All questions answered — all questions answered “Yes” have an explanation

Group Child Care Homes in a residence and Family Child Care Home have included a
list of all household members

Applicant provided an email address

Application has been date stamped by the Regional Office

A certificate of occupancy showing that the building is in compliance with the Uniform
Construction Code (UCC) and is acceptable for use as a child care center, group child
care home or family child care home, as applicable (55 Pa. Code §883270.15 and
3280.15 and 3290.14).

Documents for the Pennsylvania Child Abuse Registry, a Pennsylvania State Police
criminal history and FBI fingerprinting results for the legal entity, a representative of the
legal entity and/or the responsible person as required by the Child Protective Services
Law (23 Pa. C.S.A. 86344; 55 Pa. Code §883270.32(a) and 3280.32(a) and 3290.32(a))
that are not more than 60 months old.

Disclosure statement for the legal entity, representative for the legal entity and /or the
responsible person as required by the Child Protective Services Law (23 Pa. C.S.A.
86344, 55 Pa. Code 8§883270.32(a) and 3280.32(a) and 3290.32(a))

Child Care Center, Group Child Care Home and Family Child Care Home in a
residence only- Documents for the Pennsylvania Child Abuse Registry, a Pennsylvania
State Police criminal history and FBI fingerprinting results for the legal entity, a
representative of the legal entity and/or the responsible person as required by the Child
Protective Services Law (23 Pa. C.S.A. 86344; 55 Pa. Code §83280.32(a) and
3290.32(a)) that are not more than 60 months old. This requirement applies to any
member of the household/ residence who is 18 years of age or older and is in the
household for 30 or more calendar days per year.

Business papers, if applicable, including the following documents filed with the

Pennsylvania Department of State (55 Pa. Code §20.12):

e Articles of Incorporation — showing members

o Registration for Limited Liability Company (LLC), Limited Liability Partnership (LLP)
or Limited Partnership (LP) — showing

¢ If the business was formed outside Pennsylvania, a copy of a Certificate of Authority



or Certificate of Registration to do business in Pennsylvania as filed with the
Pennsylvania Department of State.

(7) Fictitious Name approval, if applicable (55 Pa. Code §20.21(e)).
(8) Certificate of Tax Exempt Status, if nonprofit (55 Pa. Code §20.4).
(9) Civil Rights Compliance Approval letter (see below).

(10) Documentation that a representative of the legal entity completed online orientation
training and face to face orientation training.

(11) Documentation that a representative of the legal entity completed the required
preservice training.

(12) Certificate of completion of the mandated reporter training: Recognizing and Reporting
Child Abuse: Mandated and Permissive Reporting in Pennsylvania. If the applicant
or legal entity is not an individual but a partnership, then both members must
show completion of the training. If the applicant is a corporation, the director of
the facility can submit the proof of the training.

(13) Civil Rights Compliance Questionnaire. A completed questionnaire must be returned the
Bureau of Equal Opportunity (BEO) Regional Office as directed in the cover letter
accompanying the questionnaire. We cannot process a certificate of compliance
until BEO verifies compliance with civil rights requirements. Please Note: This is
not required for Family Child Care Homes.

Every certified child care facility is eligible to participate in DHS'’s child care subsidy program
and to be listed in the resource and referral system. In order to participate in the subsidy
program or be listed in the resource and referral system, federal tax information must be
submitted to DHS. Please note that DHS requires submission of a separate document verifying
the tax information that is entered on the application.

Following receipt of your application, the regional office will review it for accuracy and
completeness. If the application is complete, the regional office will advise the provider in writing
of the next step in the certification process. If the application is not complete, the provider will
receive written notification from DHS returning the application for a certificate of compliance.






