ACT-13 OF 1997
Mandatory Abuse Report Form
Instruction Sheet

BACKGROUND AND PROCESS:

Act-13 of 1997 requires an employee or administrator of a facility who has reasonable cause to suspect that a
recipient is a victim of abuse to immediately report the abuse. The effective date was December 10, 1997.

Employees and/or administrators who have reasonable cause to suspect that a recipient is a victim of any of
the types of abuse described below shall immediately make an oral report to the Area Agency on Aging (AAA).
In addition to reporting to the AAA, oral reports must be made to the Pennsylvania Department of Aging (PDA)
and local law enforcement for suspected abuse involving sexual abuse, serious physical injury, serious bodily
injury or if a death is suspicious.

Within 48 hours of making all oral reports, the employee or administrator shall make a written report (on forms
prescribed by PDA as mandated by Act 13) to the AAA. Additionally, within 48 hours of making an oral report
for an abuse involving sexual abuse, serious physical injury, serious bodily injury and suspicious death, the
employee and an administrator shall make a written report (on forms prescribed by PDA as mandated by Act
13) to appropriate law enforcement officials. The AAA will forward a copy of the written report to the
Department of Aging within 48 hours for all reports involving sexual abuse (not including sexual harassment),
serious physical injury, serious bodily injury and suspicious death.

NOTE: Sexual harassment is an abuse that requires reporting to the AAA; however, it is not sexual abuse that
requires reporting to PDA and local law enforcement.

DEFINITIONS:

Act-13 mandates the following facilities to report: domiciliary care homes; home health care agencies; long-
term care nursing facilities; older adult daily living centers; personal care homes. In addition, the Pennsylvania
Department of Health has defined home health care organization or agency to include: hospices and birth
centers, and the Department of Public Welfare (DPW) has concluded that Act-13 reporting is applicable to all
DPW:-licensed and DPW-operated residential facilities for adults. The additional DPW facilities include:
community residential rehabilitation services, 55 Pa. Code Ch. 5310; Long Term Structured Residences, 55
Pa. Code Ch. 5320; community homes for individuals with mental retardation, 55 Pa. Code 6400; family living
homes, 55 Pa. Code Ch. 6500; ICFs/MR (private and state), 55 Pa. Code 6600; state mental hospitals and
state nursing facilities. A Home Health Care Agency is further defined to include those agencies licensed by
the Department of Health and any public or private organization which provides care to a care-dependent
individual in their place of residence. A Home Care Registry or “Registry” is further defined to include those
agencies licensed by the Department of Health any organization or business entity that supplies, arranges or
refers independent contractors to provide activities of daily living or instrumental activities of daily living or
specialized care in the consumer’s place of residence or other independent living environment for which the
registry receives a fee, consideration or compensation of any kind.

Recipient: An individual who receives care, services or treatment in or from a facility. (regardless of age)

Abuse: The occurrence of one or more of the following acts: (1) the infliction of injury, unreasonable
confinement, intimidation or punishment with resulting physical harm, pain or mental anguish; (2) the willful
deprivation by a caretaker of goods or services which are necessary to maintain physical or mental health; (3)
sexual harassment; and/or (4) sexual abuse which is intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causing or
attempting to cause rape, involuntary deviate sexual intercourse, sexual assault, statutory sexual assault,
aggravated indecent assault or incest.



Serious Bodily Injury: An injury which creates a substantial risk of death or which causes serious permanent
disfigurement or protracted loss or impairment of the function of a body member or organ.

Serious Physical Injury: An injury that causes a person severe pain or significantly impairs a person’s physical
functioning, either permanently or temporarily.

Sexual Harassment: Sexual harassment is unwelcome sexual advances, requests for sexual favors, and other
verbal or physical conduct of a sexual nature.

Sexual Abuse: Intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causing or attempting to cause rape, involuntary deviate
sexual intercourse, sexual assault, statutory sexual assault, aggravated indecent assault, indecent assault or
incest.

Rape: A person commits rape when he or she engages in sexual intercourse with a complainant: (1)by
forcible compulsion; (2)by threat of forcible compulsion that would prevent resistance by a person of
reasonable resolution; (3)who is unconscious or where the person knows that the complainant is
unaware that the sexual intercourse is occurring; (4)where the person has substantially impaired the
complainant’'s power to appraise or control his or her conduct by administering or employing, without the
knowledge of the complainant, drugs, intoxicants or other means for the purpose of preventing
resistance; (5)who suffers from a mental disability which renders the complainant incapable of consent;
(6)who is less than 13 years of age.

Statutory Sexual Assault: Except as provided under the definition of Rape, a person commits statutory
sexual assault when that person engages in sexual intercourse with a complainant under the age of 16
years and that person is four or more years older than the complainant and the complainant and the
person are not married to each other.

Involuntary Deviate Sexual Intercourse: A person commits involuntary deviate sexual intercourse when
he or she engages in deviate sexual intercourse with a complainant: (1)by forcible compulsion [forcible
compulsion includes but is not limited to compulsion resulting in another person’s death, whether the
death occurred before, during or after sexual intercourse]; (2)by threat of forcible compulsion that would
prevent resistance by a person of reasonable resolution; (3)who is unconscious or where the person
knows that the complainant is unaware that the sexual intercourse is occurring; (4)where the person has
substantially impaired the complainant’s power to appraise or control his or her conduct by administering
or employing, without the knowledge of the complainant, drugs, intoxicants or other means for the
purpose of preventing resistance; (5)who suffers from a mental disability which renders him or her
incapable of consent; (6)who is less than 13 years or age, or (7)who is less than 16 years of age and the
person is four or more years older than the complainant and the complainant and person are not married
to each other.

Sexual Assault: Except as provided under the definitions relating to Rape and Involuntary Deviate
Sexual Intercourse, a person commits sexual assault when that person engages in sexual intercourse or
deviate sexual intercourse with a complainant without the complainant’s consent.

Aggravated Indecent Assault: Except as provided under the definitions relating to Rape, Statutory
Sexual Assault, Involuntary Deviate Sexual Intercourse, and Sexual Assault, a person who engages in
penetration, however slight, of the genitals or anus of a complainant with a part of the person’s body for
any purpose other than good faith medical hygienic or law enforcement procedures commits aggravated
indecent assault if: (1)the person does so without the complainant’s consent; (2)the person does so by
forcible compulsion; (3)the person does so by threat of forcible compulsion that would prevent resistance
by a person or reasonable resolution; (4)the complainant is unconscious or the person knows that the
complainant is unaware that the penetration is occurring; (5)the person has substantially impaired the
complainant’s power to appraise or control his or her conduct by administering or employing without the
knowledge of the complainant, drugs, intoxicants or other means for the purposes of preventing
resistance; (6)the complainant suffers from a mental disability which renders him or her incapable of
consent; (7)the complainant is less than 13 years of age; or (8)the complainant is less than 16 years of
age and the person is four or more years older than the complainant and the complainant and the person
are not married to each other.

Indecent Assault: A person who has indecent contact with the complainant or causes the complainant to
have indecent contact with the person commits indecent assault if: (1)the person does so without the
complainant’s consent; (2)the person does so by forcible compulsion; (3)the person does so by threat of
forcible compulsion that would prevent resistance by a person of reasonable resolution; (4)the
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complainant is unconscious or the person knows that the complainant is unaware that the indecent
contact is occurring; (5)the person has substantially impaired the complainant’s power to appraise or
control his or her conduct by administering or employing, without the knowledge of the complainant,
drugs, intoxicants or other means for the purpose of preventing resistance; (6)the complainant suffers
from a mental disability which renders him or her incapable of consent; (7)the complainant is less than
13 years of age; or (8)the complainant is less than 16 years of age and the person is four or more years
older than the complainant and the complainant and the person are not married to each other.

Incest: A person commits incest if he or she knowingly marries or cohabits or has sexual intercourse
with an ancestor or descendant, brother or sister of the whole or half blood or an uncle, aunt, nephew or
niece of the whole blood. The relationships referred to include blood relationships without regard to
legitimacy, and relationship of parent and child by adoption.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING ACT-13 OF 1997 MANDATORY ABUSE REPORT FORM

DATE OF REPORT/TIME: Place the date and the time the written report is being prepared.

NAME OF VICTIM (Last, First Ml): Complete with the last nhame, first name and middle initial of the recipient of care (i.e.
victim) who is suspected to have been abused.

ADDRESS: Provide the address of the victim at the time of abuse.

CITY: Provide the city of the victim at the time of abuse.

STATE: Provide the state of residence of the victim at the time of abuse.

PHONE: Provide the telephone number, with area code, of the victim at the time of abuse.
DATE OF BIRTH: Provide the date of birth of the victim.

SEX: Provide the sex of the victim — male or female.

ABUSE TYPE: Place an “X” in the box that identifies the type of suspected abuse of the recipient. NOTE: If the abuse
does not specifically involve sexual abuse (not including sexual harassment), serious physical injury, serious bodily injury
or suspicious death, place an “x” in the “abuse including sexual harassment but not involving sexual abuse, serious bodily
injury, serious physical injury, or suspicious death” box for all other types of abuse as defined by the Older Adults
Protective Services Act.

DATE AND TIME OF INCIDENT: Provide the date and time the suspected abuse occurred.

FACILITY NAME: Provide the name of the facility that employs the person making the suspected abuse report.
ADDRESS: Provide the address of the facility.
CITY: Provide the city of the facility.
STATE: Provide the state of residence of the facility.
PHONE: Provide the telephone number, with area code, of the facility.
FACILITY TYPE: Provide the licensed type of facility as defined by the Act. (i.e. NH, PCH, etc.)
LICENSING AGENCY: Provide the state agency responsible for the licensure of the facility.
LICENSE NUMBER: Provide the state license number assigned to the facility type making the report.
DATE AND TIME OF REPORT TO LICENSING AGENCY: Provide the date and time the facility reported the
abuse to its licensing agency.
LICENSING AGENCY CONTACT AND TELEPHONE NUMBER: Provide the name of the office and telephone
number the facility notified of the suspected abuse.

DATE/TIME ORAL REPORT TO AAA: Provide the date and time the suspected abuse was reported to the AAA.

DATE/TIME ORAL REPORT TO LOCAL LAW ENFORCEMENT: Provide the date and time local law enforcement was
notified of suspected abuse involving sexual abuse (not including sexual harassment — Note: Sexual harassment is
defined as an abuse that requires reporting to the AAA; however, it is not a type of sexual abuse that requires reporting to
PDA and local law enforcement), serious bodily injury, serious physical injury, or suspicious death.

DATE/TIME ORAL REPORT TO PDA: Provide the date and time the Pennsylvania Department of Aging was notified of
suspected abuse involving sexual abuse (not including sexual harassment — Note: Sexual harassment is an abuse that
requires reporting to the AAA; however, it is not sexual abuse that requires reporting to PDA and local law enforcement),
serious bodily injury, serious physical injury, or suspicious death.



DATE/TIME ORAL REPORT TO COUNTY CORONER: Provide the date and time the county coroner was notified by the
AAA of the suspected abuse involving a suspicious death. NOTE: This field is for AAA use only.

NAME OF AAA CONTACTED: Provide the name of the AAA the facility notified of the suspected abuse.

NAME OF LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY: Provide the name of the law enforcement agency the facility notified of the
suspected abuse involving sexual abuse, serious bodily or physical injury, or suspicious death.

NAME OF CORONER: This field is for AAA use only. Provide the name of the coroner the AAA notified of the suspected
abuse involving a suspicious death.

CONTACT INFORMATION: This section is to gather information on the victim’s guardian or next of kin. Indicate if the
victim had a guardian or next of kin by placing an “x” in the appropriate block.

NAME: Provide the name of the individual notified of the suspected abuse.

ADDRESS: Provide the address of the individual notified of the suspected abuse.

CITY: Provide the city of the individual notified of the suspected abuse.

STATE: Provide the state of residence of the individual notified of the suspected abuse.

PHONE: Provide the telephone number, with area code, of the individual notified of the suspected abuse.
RELATIONSHIP: Provide the relationship to the victim of the individual notified of the suspected abuse.

ALLEGED PERPETRATOR NAME: Provide the last name, first name and middle initial of the individual who allegedly
abused the victim.

RELATIONSHIP TO VICTIM: Provide what relationship the alleged perpetrator is/was to the victim.
ADDRESS: Provide the address of the individual identified as the alleged perpetrator.

CITY: Provide the city of the individual identified as the alleged perpetrator.

STATE: Provide the state of residence of the individual identified as the alleged perpetrator.

PHONE NUMBER: Provide the telephone number, with area code, of the individual identified as the alleged
perpetrator.

AGE: Provide the age of the individual identified as the alleged perpetrator.

SEX: Provide the sex of the individual identified as the alleged perpetrator.

TYPE OF POSITION: If the individual identified as the alleged perpetrator is/was an employee of the facility,
provide the title of the position held by that employee.

WORK SHIFT: If the individual identified as the alleged perpetrator is/was an employee of the facility, provide the
work shift of the employee.

DATE OF HIRE: If the individual identified as the alleged perpetrator is/was an employee of the facility, provide
the date of hire of the employee.

DETAILS AND DESCRIPTION OF ABUSE: Provide information, specific comments, place of incident, observations,
allegations, etc. pertaining to the alleged abuse.

ACTIONS TAKEN BY THE FACILITY, INCLUDING TAKING OF PHOTOGRAPHS AND X-RAYS, REMOVAL OF THE
VICTIM AND NOTIFICATION OF APPROPRIATE AUTHORITIES: Describe all actions taken by the facility regarding the
alleged abuse.

OTHER PERTINENT INFORMATION, COMMENTS OR OBSERVATIONS DIRECTLY RELATED TO ALLEGED
ABUSE INCIDENT AND VICTIM: Provide any additional information regarding the victim and alleged perpetrator not
previously requested including evidence of prior abuse of the victim and any evidence of prior abuse by the alleged
perpetrator.

NAME AND TITLE OF REPORTER: Provide the name(s) and position title(s) of the individual(s) making the report of
suspected abuse.

SIGNATURE OF REPORTER: Signature of individual(s) making the report of suspected abuse.

REPORTER CONTACT INFORMATION: Provide a telephone number and, if available, an e-mail address where the
individual(s) making the report of suspected abuse can be contacted for additional information, if needed.

NAME AND TITLE OF PERSON PREPARING REPORT: Provide the name and position title of the individual who
prepared the report form.



SIGNATURE OF PERSON PREPARING REPORT: Signature of the individual who prepared the report form.

PERSON PREPARING REPORT CONTACT INFORMATION: Provide a telephone number and, if available, an e-mail
address where the individual who prepared the report form can be contacted for additional information, if needed.

A complete self study training program on abuse reporting and criminal background requirements as well as the
Act-13 Mandatory Abuse Report Form and Instructions are available for download from the Pennsylvania
Department of Aging's website at www.aging.state.pa.us.
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