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IMPORTANT REMINDER:  All providers must revalidate their MA enrollment every 5 years.  Providers should log 
into PROMISe to check their revalidation date and submit a revalidation application at least 60 days 
prior.  Enrollment (revalidation) applications may be found at 
http://www.dhs.pa.gov/provider/promise/enrollmentinformation/S_001994.  Providers who enrolled on or before 
SEPTEMBER 25, 2011 must complete the revalidation process as soon as possible.  DHS must complete the 
revalidation for all providers enrolled on or before September 25, 2011 by September 25, 2016.    

PURPOSE: 

The purpose of this bulletin is to remind providers enrolled in the Medical Assistance 
(MA) Program of the requirement to bill a child’s or adolescent’s private health insurance 
company before submitting a claim for the diagnostic assessment or treatment of Autism 
Spectrum Disorder (ASD) and to inform providers of the diagnosis codes and procedure codes 
which will be included in the MA Fee-For-Service (FFS) cost avoidance process, effective 
September 30, 2016.   

SCOPE:  

This bulletin applies to all MA enrolled providers who diagnose or provide treatment of 
ASD to children and adolescents in the MA FFS and MA managed care delivery systems.  
Providers rendering services in the MA managed care delivery system should address any 
claims processing and cost avoidance questions to the appropriate physical health and 
behavioral health MA managed care organization (MCO).  

BACKGROUND/DISCUSSION: 

COMMENTS AND QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS BULLETIN SHOULD BE DIRECTED TO: 

 

The appropriate toll free number for your provider type 
 

Visit the Office of Medical Assistance Programs Web site at  
http://www.dhs.pa.gov/provider/healthcaremedicalassistance/index.htm 

http://www.dhs.pa.gov/provider/healthcaremedicalassistance/index.htm
http://www.dhs.pa.gov/provider/promise/enrollmentinformation/S_001994
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 Act 62 of 2008 (Act 62) requires the MA Program, the Children’s Health Insurance 
Program (CHIP), and certain private health insurance policies to cover some of the costs of the 
diagnostic assessment and treatment of ASD for children and adolescents under 21 years of 
age.  The Act 62 coverage mandate applies to employer group health insurance policies 
(including Health Maintenance Organization and Preferred Provider Organization plans) issued 
in Pennsylvania to groups of 51 or more employees.  Act 62 does not apply to policies that are 
issued outside of Pennsylvania, that are “self-funded”, or are subject to the Employee 
Retirement Income Security Act of 1974. 

 Act 62 defines diagnostic assessment of ASD as assessments, evaluations, or tests 
performed by licensed physicians, licensed physician assistants, licensed psychologists, or 
certified registered nurse practitioners to diagnose whether an individual has ASD.  Treatment 
of ASD includes pharmacy care; psychiatric care; psychological care; rehabilitative care, which 
includes applied behavioral analysis (ABA); and therapeutic care, including services provided 
by speech language pathologists, occupational therapists, and physical therapists.   

 The maximum amount private health insurance companies are required to pay as a 
result of Act 62 for the diagnostic assessment and treatment of ASD (known as the “cap”) is 
adjusted annually ($38,562.00 in 2016).  The coverage that must be provided is subject to 
copayment, deductible, coinsurance, and any other general exclusions or limitations of the 
health insurance policy to the same extent as other medical services covered by the policy are 
subject to these provisions.     

 Federal law requires Medicaid be payer of last resort (42 CFR 433.139).  The 
Department utilizes data-matching processes to determine whether the child or adolescent has 
private health insurance coverage.  This private health insurance coverage information is  
utilized during the processing of FFS claims to ensure the provider has billed the private health 
insurance company first and to check if the claim has either been paid or denied. This process 
is referred to as “cost avoidance”.  MA managed care organizations also utilize cost avoidance 
in claims processing. 

 Beginning September 30, 2016, the Department will expand the list of diagnoses and 
procedure codes subject to the MA FFS cost avoidance process to ensure that the MA 
program is the payer of last resort of claims for services that are for the diagnostic assessment 
or treatment of ASD for children and adolescents under 21 years of age. 

PROCEDURE:   
 
 The Department’s clinical staff identified procedure codes that reflect services for the 
diagnostic assessment and treatment of ASD covered under Act 62. The procedure codes that 
are on the MA Program fee schedule will be subject to the cost avoidance process for MA FFS 
claims beginning September 30, 2016.  The procedures codes are on the Department’s 
website at: 

http://www.dhs.pa.gov/citizens/paautisminsuranceact62/index.htm. 
 

http://www.dhs.pa.gov/citizens/paautisminsuranceact62/index.htm
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The Department will continue to review procedure codes to identify additional codes that reflect 
services subject to Act 62.   

The following F84 diagnosis codes will also be used beginning September 30, 2016 in 
the MA FFS cost avoidance process to identify claims for the diagnostic assessment and 
treatment of ASD for children and adolescents under 21: 

 

ICD-10-CM Diagnosis Codes 

Diagnosis Code Diagnosis Label 

F84.0 Childhood Autism 

F84.1 Atypical Autism 

F84.2 Rett Syndrome 

F84.3 Other Childhood Disintegrative Disorder 

F84.4 Overactive Disorder Associated with Mental 
Retardation and Stereotyped Movements 

F84.5 Asperger’s Syndrome 

F84.8 Other Pervasive Developmental Disorders 

F84.9 Pervasive Developmental Disorder, unspecified 

   
 In order to determine if a child or adolescent under 21 years of age has private health 
insurance coverage and ensure that the MA program is the payer of last resort for claims for 
services that are for the diagnostic assessment or treatment of ASD, providers must: 

Identify Third Party Resources and MA Coverage 

 Confirm third party resources by asking MA beneficiaries for all medical insurance 
cards at the time services are provided and check the Eligibility Verification System 
(EVS) to identify private health insurance coverage or other third party resources.  If 
there are discrepancies between the medical insurance cards and EVS, providers 
should confirm private health insurance coverage with the MA beneficiary.  

 Confirm MA coverage by checking EVS and identify that MA benefits are provided 
through either physical health or behavioral health MA MCOs or MA FFS. 



If the MA Beneficiary has Private Health Insurance 

 

 

Identify the procedure codes that are on the private health insurer’s fee schedule. 
Private health insurance may require specific procedures codes for billing purposes.  
Those codes should be utilized when billing the primary insurer to ensure proper 
processing and payment of the claim.   

Submit claims to the private health insurance prior to billing the MA beneficiary’s MA 
MCO or the Department (for MA FFS enrollees) as applicable, even if a denial was 
previously received for that service or a similar service.   

If the MA Beneficiary is in the MA Managed Care Delivery System 

 Identify the procedure codes that are on the appropriate physical health or 
behavioral health MA MCO’s fee schedule.  
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 Submit claims to the appropriate MA MCO based on their claims processing 
requirements. 

If the MA Beneficiary is in the MA FFS Delivery System 

 

 

 

Confirm the procedure codes listed on the MA Program fee schedule.  You may view 
the MA Program fee schedule on line at: 
http://www.dhs.pa.gov/publications/forproviders/schedules/mafeeschedules/index.ht
m.  

Submit claims to the Department using procedure codes listed on the MA Program 
fee schedule, and include the results of billing the private health insurance within 
your claims:   

o 

o 

When the private health insurance pays the claim for the ASD service, the 
provider should include the payment amount.   
If the private health insurance denies the payment of the ASD service, the 
provider should provide the following as an attachment:  

 

 

For all claims submitted by paper, the explanation of benefits (EOB) or 
MA 538/539.   
For electronic or internet claims, the provider must include the Claim 
Adjustment Reason Code (CARC).   

 

If the Department suspends the claim, submit an EOB or letter of denial upon 
request from the Department. If the EOB contains or letter of denial specifies 
procedure codes that are different than the procedure code in MA FFS claim, the 
Department will contact the provider to ensure proper resolution of the claim.  

The MA FFS Program will deny claims that do not show the results of billing the private 
health insurance.  Providers may resubmit denied claims to the MA FFS Program with the 
appropriate documentation/coding within 365 days from the date of service.      

 For more information on claims processing and cost avoidance, providers should refer 
to their provider handbook. 

http://www.dhs.pa.gov/publications/forproviders/schedules/mafeeschedules/index.htm
http://www.dhs.pa.gov/publications/forproviders/schedules/mafeeschedules/index.htm



